Jimmy Grist

I met Jimmy Grist at Planet Comicon 2013 – a whole year after I started collecting drawings. Another Kansas City native, Grist’s booth caught my eye when I saw him drawing a killer rendition of Finn & Jake. Then I saw that the artwork he had on display was all watercolors. I’m a sucker for watercolors – always have been thanks to Bill Watterson and Calvin and Hobbes. So of course, I had him draw me a Ghostbuster. GBGrist You’ll come to see that for Planet Comicon, 2013 was the year of the female Ghostbuster. Turns out, Jimmy Grist is a big fan of Calvin and Hobbes, too. And it shows in his webcomic, Dinosaur Kid.He’s been making his comic for about almost half a year now.

It’s about a kid who’s a dinosaur, growing up and going to school and trying to do the right thing. The comic is only 5 months old, so a lot of things are still changing and’ll keep changing. But I love making it. As he goes through little adventures with Octopus Kid and learns about existing, I learn about techniques, materials, publicity, and website construction.

Who’s your favorite Ghostbuster?

I’ve always enjoyed Ray’s innocence, I started to appreciate Venkman’s sardonicism a lot more as I got older, and I think Winston is criminally overlooked — but when it comes to a favorite, I gotta go with Egon. I was a kid with glasses. I was Billy the Blue Ranger, Donatello the Ninja Turtle, Chuckie Finster: always the smart kid with weird anxieties. I never went so far as to collect spores, molds, and fungus, but I’ve always understood why a person would.

Check out Dinosaur Kid over at jimmygrist.net or follow him on twitter @jimmygrist.

Leave a Reply

