No job is too big. No fee is too big.

I’m Patrick. And as far back as I can remember, Ghostbusters has always been my favorite movie. There was even a short period in my youth when I only answered to “Peter.” When I was four or five, I brought my barber an ad for Ghostbusters II I ripped out of a magazine. “Cut it like him,” I said, pointing to Peter Venkman’s thinning and receding hairline.

When I was a kid, they were just goofy movies with cool looking ghosts and fire poles. As I got older though, I began to understand more of the subtle humor. The movies grew up right along side me. The lines I quoted changed. My favorite Ghostbuster changed. But both movies still remained an important part of who I was – comically, creatively, artistically – everything. Which, as I’m writing this, sounds kindof silly to say about a movie with a 110-foot marshmallow man. But everyone has their defining piece of art. Whether it be Abbey Road, or The Iliad, or van Gogh’s Starry Night. Everyone has that one thing that they connect to more than anything else. For me, it’s a couple of movies from the 80’s about 4 guys crackin’ wise and bustin’ ghosts.

Which I guess brings us to the whole point of this thing. As an illustrator and geek, I find myself attending a comic book convention or two. While there, I get the pleasure of meeting a lot of other illustrators and geeks. And while I’m at it, I ask them to draw me a Ghostbuster. (Hey, that’s the name of the site!) I give them no direction or specification other than the initial idea and see where it goes.

Here I’m going to be posting all of the drawings I’ve received. I’ll be talking to the artists about what their “Ghostbusters” are in their lives. About art and influences and what they’re into lately. Talking about their latest project, what they’re working on, or just what they happen to be up to at the moment. I’m really excited to show you what I have so far. I haven’t been disappointed once. I’ll leave you with one I did last month, as an exercise to start getting more into working with markers.

Anyway, thanks for reading all that – and I hope you dig all the stuff I have to show you. Oh, and if you’re an artist, or know an artist that would like to get in on this, you can catch me on twitter @patrickfedo.

– Patrick

(click to enlarge)

(click to enlarge)

Leave a Reply

